Although we had good intentions of getting up a Christmas tree a few weeks before Christmas, somehow we found ourselves a few days before Christmas without one, or any other Christmas decorating done. It seemed a little silly at that point to go to the trouble of getting a real tree only to take it down soon after. So we pulled out the mini fake Christmas tree, set it on top of the sub in the living room and let the boys decorate with a selection of ornaments.
IMG_3495 copy

Smith dutifully hung as many ornaments as he could on the lower part of the tree.

I spent that evening after the boys went to bed wrapping presents. Last year we bought a huge roll of kraft paper in the painting section of Home Depot. Much cheaper than buying kraft wrapping paper in the wrapping paper section. Now i just buy new ribbon at Christmas. Costco has 50 yard spools of ribbon at Christmas for less than $4, so a pretty economical way to wrap Christmas presents.
IMG_3511 copy

Plus, I like the way it looks.

We opened our presents the day before Christmas Eve. Nic worked, so while we were waiting for him to get home I attempted to get some pictures of the boys, jammies and all.IMG_3529 copy IMG_3535 copy

 

A little blurry but still cute, I think.

Since this was Clark’s first Christmas we let him unwrap a present first. Initially, he was a little frightened by the wrapping paper but once he figured out that he got something fun out of the box he was all for it.
IMG_3547 copy IMG_3555 copy

Cars Slippers

IMG_3568 copy

Most expensive chew toy ever, but evidently made of some secret addictive substance since Clark loves his Sophie.
IMG_3570 copy IMG_3573 copy IMG_3582 copy IMG_3599 copy

 

The boys both have quite a few Rescue Bot transformers so we got them the Optimus Prime with a trailer to hold their other transformers.

IMG_3606 copy

“Some Assembly Required”IMG_3611 copyNic surprised me by giving me tickets to a Lights concert in February (on Valentines Day!), along with a hotel room. Before I married Nic I spent most of my free time and money on going to concerts, but I have not been to one since I got married. I am totally going to be the old, lame person singing loudly, off key, into a young kid’s ear but I don’t even care. I am so looking forward to it!

My other gift was a new toilet seat. In some circles, that would probably be a gag gift. But as other mothers of boys can probably attest, a new toilet seat is a welcome and thoughtful gift.

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day with our extended families. I didn’t take any pictures, but it was a really lovely and relaxed holiday.